Obligatory first blog post, blah blah blah

I’m still ironing out the kinks in this site. Not sure if I like the theme, but I’ve played with it a bit.  Might change it to something else at some point. We shall see.

So, what is this place going to be all about?

Well, I really don’t know. I haven’t had a “public blog” in a long time. Like, years.  I kind of want to have a space to just blog whatever I feel like. I have a lot of interests. I have a lot going on in my life. There’s a lot to write about — everything from mental health to knitting, and from cooking and physical health to the crazy shit my cats do when they think we’re not paying attention (seriously, the girlcat loves to Matrix-bounce off the hallway walls from time to time, for example). I could also write about some of my favourite things. This ranges from Doctor Who to crazy cat videos, and from toys that adorn my desk at work to that insanely fuzzy moth I came across last spring. (Seriously, it was really cute, for an insect. I really am not good with most insects, but this little guy was really adorable.) Uh, I should mention I’m easily side-tracked by oooh, shiny. So, forgive any rambly-ness. Ahem.

So, yes, there’s a lot I can write about. Will anyone read? I have no frackin’ clue, but if you do, welcome to my world, for what it’s worth.

Oh, and you’re probably wondering why the broken glass header and why it’s repeated on this post. Well, first, it’s repeated on this post because I like to change things periodically, so I figure, the header might become temporary and change.

Second, the broken glass image seems fitting to me at this point in time in my life. Depending on what I write about, it might become clearer, but let’s just say that I see myself as “broken”. Most days, that’s “broken, but patched up”. Some days are better than others; and some, I try not to talk much about. I think that some of us are all a little broken somehow. The world we live in kind of makes us that way. Maybe it’s depression, insomnia, anxiety, SAD, disordered eating, or some other mental health issue, and maybe it’s just occasional for some, but for others, it’s a daily struggle. But personally, I find that some of the most interesting people are broken. I will admit freely that I am broken.

Some folks might find that odd or offensive — and I don’t mean it to be. It’s just part of my world view and I don’t expect others to ascribe to it. Either this makes sense to you or it doesn’t. If it doesn’t, thanks for reading and have a great life. I’m not being facetious — I really mean this. I hope life treats you well and I won’t be offended if you wander off. But if this does make sense to you, and you decide to stick around, welcome to my virtual blanket fort.

2 thoughts on “Obligatory first blog post, blah blah blah”

Leave a Reply

