A bowl of beefy tomato soup with a spoon on the side.

Food: comforting “Beefy Tomato Soup”

Yep, my second post is about food. I cook a lot in an effort to be more mindful about what goes into my body (I’m not perfect at it, but I’m working on it). So, get used to it? 😉

I was looking for something to use up the last 3/4 lbs of ground beef in the fridge before it went bad. I had pulled it out of the freezer on Monday, but never ended up using all of it, so I had to use up  the rest as re-freezing is not an option. As it turns out, a recipe called “Beefy Tomato Soup” came across my Facebook feed, so I thought  I’d give it a go. Now, I had to make a few adjustments:

  • I didn’t have a jar of spaghetti sauce, so I used a can of no-salt-added diced tomatoes, seasonings, and tomato paste.
  • I can’t eat onions, so I added onion powder.
  • I added garlic powder on top of the minced garlic (I love garlic).
  • The recipe calls for elbow macaroni, but I generally have whole wheat spiral or penne pasta on hand, so that’s what I used.
  • And finally, it calls for cream cheese, but what I had on hand was whipped chive cream cheese. (Oh yeah, more flavour!)

Well, let me tell you — this soup was just what the doctor ordered today. It was warming, comforting and heartier than  a broth-based soup. Delicious? Oh yes. The kitchen smelled divine while it was bubbling away. Easy to make, too. Looking for something other than “just another soup”? Give this one a go. Make adjustments to your tastes/what you have on hand.

And I got 9 cups out of my batch. I’m usually satisfied with a cup of soup — sometimes with or without a side half-sandwich, crackers or even some fruit, or on its own. My version came out to 321 calories for a cup, 7g fat, 6g fiber, 13g sugar (a bit  higher than I’d like but that’s okay), 35g carbs and 9g protein.

Leave a Reply

